Daily Post Writer’s Block: Books

11 Mar

Writer’s block prompt: Name a book that changed your life.

This is the worst question to ask a bibliophile and English geek like myself. This is the first one that came to mind when I thought about it:

The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien

I read this book cover to cover once a year every year from 8th grade to my second year or college just about (then I didn’t have time because I had too much literature to read). Some folk have called it a dry read with too much description and not enough action, but what I fell in love with was the world. I credit Tolkien entirely with my love of world-building and high fantasy. I’d consider this book a gateway drug into many other fantasy realms, and it was something of a safe haven for me when I was going through a horribly difficult time.

Leave a Reply

