Academy Awards 2011:View from My Couch

28 Feb

Today’s round of little-known facts about me: I adore movies. From a very young age I’ve been instilled with a near-rabid love of the silver screen, something I credit my mother for. My father, bless him, has never been much for going to the movies, so my mother began dragging me and my younger sister out as soon as we were old enough to not be terrified of Disney movies.

Which took until I was about 5 or 6. Old Disney was scary.

Along with this love of movies came a love of spending time with my Mum, so this year, just like many years before, I went over to hang out at my parents’ house and we curled up on the couch with cups of tea and ginger snaps to watch the Oscars.

I don’t hold a lot of stock in the Academy Awards as a genuine measure of Hollywood Achievement. I still hold that the best movie of 2008 was Doomsday. No disrespect to the Coen brothers, but any movie that features cannibalism, pole-dancing, a high-speed car chase and knights on horseback is going to be my favourite movie of the year. I think most of the Oscars is power play and politics and people wearing sparkly dresses that make the viewers at home go “dang, that dress costs as much as my house”.

This year was pretty fun in my book though. I love Anne Hathaway, and just about every dress she wore last night was absolutely stunning (though I wasn’t a big fan of that last one), though James Franco didn’t impress me until he came out in drag dressed as Marilyn Monroe and informed everyone that he’d just gotten a call from Charlie Sheen.

Here are a few of my personal favourite moments:

– Justin Timberlake confessing to the audience that ‘I am Banksy’. As a street-art geek I loved ‘Exit Through the Gift Shop’, but had a strong feeling it wasn’t going to win just because Hollywood didn’t want to incur the real Banksy’s wrath. On a related note, I was really hoping Kevin Spacey would follow up this joke and turn it into a running gag by bringing up that whole ‘Kaiser Soze thing’.

And I’ve just ruined the Usual Suspects. I apologize.

– Holy crap on a stick, Zachary Levi WAS actually singing in Tangled. I think I literally exploded when he stepped out and delivered a beautiful and classy performance (Mandy Moore wasn’t bad either). It took a while for me to reign in my fangirl squee and I flailed and wailed until my mother threw sofa cushions at me to shut me up.

That said, Randy Newman totally deserved the award. As did Toy Story 3 for Best Animated. Though How to Train Your Dragon was my favourite animated movie of the year.

– Double holy crap on a stick, Trent Reznor got the Academy Award for best original score. Speaking of rabid fangirl squees, I basically broke down and could not contain my flailing. Nine Inch Nails is pretty much my favourite band, I listened to the Social Network Soundtrack about fifty times before I saw (and loved) the movie, and somehow the older Trent gets, the better he looks, and there’s only so much of that I can ignore to account for his huge talent and musical genius. Mrreow. But anyway, he gave a wonderfully tasteful speech, and is paving the way for amazing film scores everywhere. Something my mother, a music professor, heavily approved of.

– Lots of love to the writers this year. Aaron Sorkin took away Best Adapted Screenplay and gave a wonderful speech, as did David Seidler for Best Original Screenplay. Maybe I just love the Screenplay awards because that’s the award I have the best chance of ever taking away myself, but whatever. Props to the writers. *woop woop*

– Jude Law and Robert Downey Jr. reprise their Sherlock Holmes dynamic to present, and it filled me with more fangirl squee. I just want to cuddle both those boys.

– Natalie Portman’s non-meltdown, an accomplishment after the last time I saw her accept a Best Actress award. Also, great dress, truly. Rockin’ the purple.

I didn’t have too many bad moments, though I kind of wish Gwyneth Paltrow would stick to acting and walk away from country singing. Sweetie, singing with your eyes clothes doesn’t make you a better singer. And Sandra Bullock has definitely had some work done.

I also kinda wished Social Network had scooped the big awards, but that’s just because I haven’t seen The King’s Speech (thanks to poverty).

Also, Kirk Douglas. Dear Heavens Kirk Douglas. I want to cuddle him.

A most amusing Academy Awards this year. I definitely laughed more times than I groaned, and not all the dresses were horrifying. Plus it was a fun way to spend time with my Mum, which doesn’t happen all that often these days.   And now I have a huge long list of movies to check out when I start getting paychecks. Never a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

