Coveting

23 Feb

So, because writing these things down will keep me sane, here’s a list of things I want to do when I have money:

1) Join a yoga class. Or a gym or something. Yoga sounds appealing because I think it’ll help me with all the spiritual turmoil as well as the miserable out-of-shapedness business I’m dealing with. Seriously. I shouldn’t feel the burn just for walking three and a half miles at a slight incline. That or I want to start swimming again, which means buying fancy shampoo so my hair doesn’t turn green.

2) Join a local co-op. Sounds like crazy hippie talk, but I want to shop, eat, and live more local and more healthily, and besides, the nearest local co-op is crazy awesome and totally sweet. Their deli has the best pasta salad I’ve ever had ever in my life.

3) Follow up from 2 is to eat more healthy, local foods, and keep up this crazy no soda diet I’m dealing with. If I eat more healthy, I’ll just feel better in general. So that’d include buying from the co-op, and occasionally venturing across town to Trader Joe’s, which is the best source of healthy junk food I’ve ever found.

4) Save up to get a sweet-ass apartment with Jeff in August. And by sweet-ass I mean this one place that has two bedrooms AND a spiral staircase.

5) Save up more to decorate said sweet-ass apartment with awesome kitchen appliances, wall hangings, furnishings, posters and so on.  So it’ll actually feel like home and not just a temporary fixture like most places I’ve lived.

6) Travel. As well as needing to check out law schools in other states, I miss my sister and I want to visit her in England before she comes back.

7) Get more tattoos. I love my first one, and I got it about a year ago. I could definitely enjoy having a few more. I’m thinking I’ll get my Star Wars tattoos next. Because I am a geek.

8) Buy a new wardrobe. In particular some skirts, sweatpants, other random things. I’m tired of looking at myself in the mirror and going ‘ugh, my clothes look all weird today’. That and I have a weakness for long flowing skirts.

9) Pay my parents back for all the money they’ve been helping me out with in the last couple of months. Unemployment would be a lot more miserable without their help and love. My parents truly rock.

10) Buy more bookshelves. If you could see the overflow problem I have in my room, you’d understand the reasoning. That and Jeff and I are going to end up combining book collections when we get a place, and that means more bookshelves! Preferably of the floor-to-ceiling variety. One of the reasons I’m reluctant to move out of state is that it means leaving my book collection behind, at least for a while. This would sadden me immensely.

11) Get sushi once a week. Because few things in life make me happier. Delicious food that doesn’t make my stomach panic and curl up in fear? That’s a big ‘yes please’. Even just the vegetable kind makes my life better.

12) Videogames. I’m budgeting my meager unemployment moneys to buy Pokemon Black on the 6th of March, but I’d like to have some others too. Jeff has a lot of them, but I’d love to have at least a few of my own to squee over and suffer addiction from.

I’m sure I covet plenty of other random things. This is a small portion of my materialistic madness.

3 Responses to “Coveting”

  1. heideelahree February 23, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    First: Spiral staircase totally requires “sweet-ass” descriptor.

    Second: Book + moving = valid problem. I keep looking at my bookcases and wondering what I’m going to do when (let’s just be optimistic here) I manage to get a job (*crosses fingers*) out of state.

    Good luck

  2. mark February 23, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    I had a spiral staircase in nebrasky. It was fantabulous.

  3. Kat February 26, 2011 at 5:39 am #

    obviously i think the travel one should be your most important one :p slightly biased of course lol. But yeah yoga is cool too. i loved going to hay-market pilates and yoga, think they might be a bit expensive though but check out their website!!
    miss you and yeah gt on that travel thing 🙂
    xx

Leave a Reply

