Things I Regret About My Time in Undergraduate College

23 Jan

– Not learning a useful foreign language, like Spanish.

– Spending all my free time sleeping and going out for drinks instead of joining useful college organizations, like the honors society or a club or something.

– Not sticking with the Poli Sci minor or major. That would have been useful too.

– Not realizing my law school aspirations. If I’d figured that out a year ago, I’d be sitting here waiting for acceptance letters for the fall instead of barely started down the road.

– I would have applied for better jobs before November.

– Gone to a couple of career fairs to get my name out there.

– not Retaking Oceanography so I wouldn’t have that one D on my transcript.

– Not volunteering.

– Not putting more thought towards what’s coming next.

– not finishing my novel.

– not finding a cheaper place to live.

– Dropping out of the honors program.

– Not studying abroad at Oxford my Freshman year

– Bad boy decisions.

– More bad boy decisions. That definitely counts for more than one regret.

– Not saving more money after graduation as a buffer.

 

There you go kids. Wanna have a decent time after you graduate? Don’t be me. If nothing else, I count as a quality cautionary tale.

Stay in school kids. Or if not, don’t get a liberal arts degree. They’re more useful as placemats these days.

*cheesy thumbs up*

Now excuse me, I”ll be over here drowning my sorrows and waiting for potential employers to call me back.

 

2 Responses to “Things I Regret About My Time in Undergraduate College”

  1. somethingnewplease January 23, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    These are shared experiences (well I didn’t have any bad boys but we can replace the gender).

    That’s why I went to graduate school….

    Maybe not the best choice, either.

    Enjoyed,
    D

    • theinsomniakid January 23, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

      The way I see it, graduate school is both an opportunity to deal with and change past regrets, or make a lot of fresh new mistakes to regret later. Which is why I’m thinking it’s the right decision for me :3

      Glad you enjoyed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

