Where I’m Going in 2011

14 Jan

I am a speck in the universe.

I am a tiny, insignificant organism surrounded by billions of other tiny, insignificant organisms and I cannot make a difference.

I live in a country where most of the things I’m bothered by (gun control, gay rights, stupid people) are so ingrained in society that the changing of them is nigh impossible. Even if I spend a decade digging through the mire that is a political science degree, public office and consultancy, I still stand a very high chance of making absolute zero waves in the American Policy Forum.

These facts are what made me an English major four and a half years ago when I bounced my idealist butt onto campus, looking to make changes and be the difference. These facts are what made me turn away from Political Science, slowly at first and then at a very fast run.

Don’t get me wrong folks, writing is my first love. Creating something from nothing is what gets my sorry ass out of bed every morning. Writing and sharing stories with all you faceless internet doods is that great accomplishment on the horizon I hope to look back on with satisfaction in my old age.

I’ve also had other aspirations. A strange and uncomfortable burning desire to change the world, as it’s been rather dissatisfying to me over the course of my 23 years of life. I am in fact an idealist, the idealism is just buried under multiple layers of cynicism, bile and alcoholism. I’m cynical about the world because, let’s face it, in trying to change it you either end up dead, ignored or a bit of an obnoxious ponce (sorry Bono, I lost all respect for you the moment I saw you in that Jeans ad in Vanity Fair. Designer jeans will NOT help save the planet).

Thus, I turned away from political forums. From pre-law. From extracurriculars. I focused on my own mini microcosm for a while.

Cut to now. I’m about to be unemployed, and I have few real job prospects. I’m looking at freelancing, but I’m also feeling a sick and sad attachment to my academic career of yore.

Yes, universe, this is me eating my words. I miss school.

I’ve dabbled in ideas for post-graduate careers (Besides being a writer of course. That’s going to happen no matter what I do). I’ve considered being a librarian. I’ve dismissed teaching on the grounds that I’d probably make too many students cry. I’ve allowed my mind to wander back to those days when I wandered around, eyes shining, listening to Bob Dylan while reading Thoreau and wanting to run up and shake things around in the American political system.

I’ve also been following this supreme court case fairly well, especially for a gamer. Most of us are the oblivious type, preferring to run around in our imaginary worlds than get involved. While I’m still a bit of a newb to the gaming community, I’m definitely passionate about it. I have a Steam Account. An XBox Live Gold account. I have a gamerscore and really jankety-looking avatar. I have a gaming laptop designed to run Starcraft II on best possible graphics. I’ve been playing Tetris since I was ten. I have a love and a passion for new media storytelling.

I also have an enthusiasm for the law. It doesn’t just stem from years of watching episodes of Law and Order: SVU over and over, it’s that desire to make waves in the world, to prod this system until it gives and changes are made.

And there are a lot of changes to be made.

But what about the areas of society that are only just now becoming policed? What about violent videogame controversies? What about the internet? What about copyright law has changed? What constitutes plagiarism? Who defends the webcomic artist on the internet when some asshole steals his art for profit and gives him no credit?

Smaller battles than overturning the ban on gay marriage, sure, but things I’m passionate about.

So this is my plan, at least for now. My idea, my vague goal, my day job choice:

I want to go to law school and study Intellectual Property. I’m going to spend the next year obsessively preparing for the LSAT, take it in June (and again in October if I have to), and apply to go study at various institutions in this country. I’m going to track down a job that doesn’t suck out my soul and save up money. I’m going to finish that novel and start it on the great publishing circuit. And I’m going to go to law school in the fall of 2012.

Then I’m going to do whatever it takes to break into the fields I want to. I’m going to take these new laws and poke them until they stand true to gamers and internet geeks across the board. Because I love this big, semi-incestuous family I’ve found on the web. They deserve a voice in their legal rights and abilities just like anyone else. Even the furries. Even the people with more unusual habits than furries.

So that’s where I’m headed in 2011. I think I’m going to go insane.

But let’s face it; I’m a writer. I went insane long ago without any help from the idea of law school.

So them’s the facts, internet. There’s my path, rocky and littered with the corpses of idealists gone before me. Get me a sharp stick and a good pair of boots. I’m good to go.

2 Responses to “Where I’m Going in 2011”

  1. Caryn January 14, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    ” I am in fact an idealist, the idealism is just buried under multiple layers of cynicism, bile and alcoholism”

    Heh, that sounds like me. Well, I’m not an alcoholic *yet*, but whatever.

    Anyhow, good luck with getting into law school! I do believe that you can make at least a little change in the shitpile of our laws. πŸ™‚

  2. misanthropicverbiage January 14, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    πŸ˜€ Kick ass, take names, and go beat to death all the bastard lawyers that give lawyers a bad name! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

