A Letter to my Novel

8 Jan

Dear Novel,

I’m writing this letter to tell you how sorry I am for neglecting you during this first week of the new year. And by neglected I mean I’ve literally ignored your existence to the point of not even transferring you over to my new laptop.

I’ve neglected you for one reason and one reason only, and that is that my job has taken my free time and turned it into a screaming pile of exhaustion. After getting off of a six hour shift at my cook job my brain has disintegrated into a pile of goo capable of nothing more than taking the hottest shower known to man and shoveling a microwave burrito into my mouth while watching TV, going ‘durr’ before I collapse into an exhausted sleep.

As well as this, my new job has also induced crippling depression, spontaneous bouts of crying, my RSI flaring up to the point that I can barely keep my hands on the steering wheel at 10 and 2 when I’m driving, similar pains in my legs and feet, and the stench of fryer grease to permeate my entire being.

Let me put it this way: you know you’re in the wrong profession when the thought of working a 5 hour shift at a cook job makes you want to throw up, but sitting in Barnes and Noble for an hour and a half reading LSAT study guides gives you not only a sense of calm, but anticipation.

That’s right novel, I’m quitting my cook job. My last day is the 15th. I’m excited too. Not only that but I’m hunting down something less physically damaging to my health and psyche so that I’ll be able to focus on you in my free time.

Especially since I have a deadline now.

That’s right, I’m going to law school.

What’s that? You’ve never pegged me for the lawyering type? That’s because I”m probably not, in the traditional sense anyway. That said, I have a passion for politics and law that I speak of rarely, I love a good argument, and I have a burning desire to continue my education. A mind is a terrible thing to waste, and while I can definitely use it to adequately finish and publish you, dear novel, and many brothers you could have, I can also use this to make the world a better place.

For the curious, I’m interested in going into Intellectual Property law, and would love to work for the videogame industry. I hope to spend the next year doing research, practicing and taking the LSAT, and sending in applications to enroll in the fall of 2012. Crazy? Maybe. But I have the drive to make a difference in new media, especially videogames and the internet, two things that are only just now coming up as needing major legal overhauls.

But fear not, dear novel. This will not prevent me from finishing you! It means I have a deadline! I must have you finished, edited and flung at publishers before I go to law school! That’s a year and a half of time I can devote to you.

So there you have it. I’m sorry for neglecting you so. That will all change starting a week from now.

Well, just over a week. I’ll need to sleep for a day or two to recover from my last six and a half hour shift.

I’ll see you soon novel dear. You have been missed.

Now I’m gonna go watch Glee, because I’m too exhausted to work on you.

With deepest love,

Lora

3 Responses to “A Letter to my Novel”

  1. heideelahree January 9, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    First, good luck with the novel. I think giving yourself a due date can be very motivating.

    Second, my initial instinct when you said “LSAT” was “but…. but… she’s a WRITER!” Then I thought about what you’ve presented of yourself on this blog, and I can totally see you working with Intellectual Property law. I think you’d care about what you were doing, and if there’s anything I’ve learned from my crappy jobs, it’s that liking your job has more value than people realize.

    I just didn’t want to give up a writer to the lawyers, but maybe that’s what makes it a good idea. It sounds great. So good luck. And yay no more friend food smell! 🙂

    • heideelahree January 9, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

      Um, *fried food smell. “Friend food smell”… wow… We could take that sooo many directions.

    • theinsomniakid January 10, 2011 at 1:41 am #

      Don’t worry, writing will always be my first love. And I plan on doing it until my mind shrivels up and gives out. Shit, if I get my novel done in the next couple of months, I hope to have it in the works for publishing before/during law school. I’m a jack of all trades with many passions, and lawyering certainly will help fund my awesome writing excursions. Plus, I want to go lawyer for the videogame industry and the internet, two things I love a little too much.

      Thanks for the luck wishes. And I have no clue what friend food smell would be, but I’m guessing it would be a little scary :p

Leave a Reply

