Let’s Give it Up for the New Year

30 Dec

I’m not great at resolutions, especially not those of the New Year’s variety. I’m a person of resolve, certainly, but when it comes to big official goals, those tend to fall by the wayside in favor of Real Life and Slacking Off, two of my greatest challenges in my attempts at productivity.

So this year, 2011, is going to be different.

This year, I am going to:

1) Have a source of steady income

I’m not gonna tell myself to get a better job. That’s hard work people. The job hunt is exhausting, miserable and frustrating, and while I know the need for something better than burger-slinging is pressing, I can make that happen in due time. So I’ll keep working my cook job, keep hunting down things with a higher by-the-hour pay, and start offering to draw and write stuff for people for money on the internet, or something similar.

2) Write

It’s that simple. I need to write more, because it’s what I want to do with my life. I need to make the time for my novels and my stories. I have some ideas of what to do. I have a novel sitting and staring at me on my hard drive begging me to frakking finish it already, it’s sick of doing nothing. I have a serial webnovel in the works that looks to at least start off by satirizing / paying homage to Disney Princess stories.  I’ve got a graphic novel to script. And that’s before anything new pops up.

3) Be a Writer

And by that I mean, make this shit get real. I’m going to query agents and publishers. I’m going to post things online and consider self-publishing. I’m going to submit short stories to magazines and websites. I’m going to put myself out there.

4) Draw / art things

Because I love art, and I’m actually pretty good at it. This includes figuring out how to really use photoshop, and maybe hunt down a tablet so I can start getting digital with my drawing.

5) Stop being an unhealthy bum

Which covers all the typical ‘eat better’, ‘exercise’ and ‘stop eating junkfood’ resolutions all in one. I’m horribly unhealthy, I’m gaining weight in all the wrong places and I’m going to die of a heart attack if I don’t start giving a shit and eating more fresh food that isn’t full of crap that will make me sick.

6) Travel

Because damnit Nebraska, sometimes you’re boring. This year I hope to visit my sister in London, and go on a Writer’s Retreat with Jeff to Colorado. Stanley Hotel, here we come. So I’m saving all my money for hotel rooms, gas for my car and plane tickets.

So there’s a few things I’ve got up my sleeve for 2011. I’ve also got a new laptop on its way, evil plans for new art-related things, and a whole slew of videogames to play.

It’ll be the year of fun, scary new adventures. In other words, a year of awesome.

Leave a Reply

